Planned Giving

Museum Atrium

Planned Giving

Planned Giving

An Enduring Legacy Nathaniel Bowditch Sets the Example

Nathaniel Bowditch (1773-1838) was a founding member of the East India Marine Society (the progenitor of today’s Peabody Essex Museum) and among the most brilliant mathematicians and astronomers of early America. His book The New American Practical Navigator is considered a classic and is still in use today.

Through his will, Nathaniel Bowditch left many of his personal effects and the then-handsome sum of $1,000 to the Society. His planned gift was one of the first such bequests to the East India Marine Society. Given almost two hundred years ago, it continues to help sustain the museum today — figuratively and literally connecting the past to the future.

Mr. Bowditch’s example is the inspiration for today’s Nathaniel Bowditch Society. The Peabody Essex Museum established the Nathaniel Bowditch Society to recognize and honor individuals and families who support the future of the museum by making a planned gift such as a bequest or life income gift. Nathaniel Bowditch Society Members meet annually and are invited to all special museum events.

Members of the museum staff and its advisors are available to assist you in achieving your tax, estate planning, and charitable giving objectives. As in all situations involving financial and estate planning, you should consult with your own legal and financial advisors.

For more information please call the Development Office at 978-745-9500, ext. 3039, or e-mail us.

Nathaniel Bowditch Society

The Peabody Essex Museum gratefully acknowledges the following individuals and families who have made a planned gift or bequest to support our future:

  • Anonymous (2)
  • Estate of Helen Alconis
  • Carl and Iris Barrel Apfel
  • B. Devereux Barker III
  • Mr. and Mrs. Randolph P. Barton
  • Mr. and Mrs. John Basler
  • Mr. and Mrs. Scott M. Beatty
  • Judy and Leonard* Berkal
  • Mr.* and Mrs. Ben Beyea
  • Dr. Alan Bezan
  • Nathaniel H. and Susan W. Bowditch
  • Judge Thaddeus Buczko
  • Elisabeth Shrigley Bundy
  • Mr. Stafford Campbell
  • Mr. and Mrs. C. Richard Carlson
  • Dean Forrester Cobos and Nancy B. Cobos
  • Harold and Virginia Cogger
  • Lawrence Coolidge and Nancy Myers Coolidge
  • Mr. and Mrs. Albert M. Creighton Jr.
  • Mary E. Darmstaetter
  • Ms. Geleta Fenton
  • Dr.* and Mrs.* H.A. Crosby Forbes
  • Merry Glosband
  • Mr. David R. Godine
  • Paul S. Goodof
  • Richard J. Gordon
  • Constance R. Grayson
  • John R. and Beth G. Grimes
  • Estate of Henry E. Haley
  • Carter H. and Sallie B.* Harrison
  • Mr.* and Mrs. Theodore R. Haskell
  • Carla and David Herwitz
  • Richard and Polly Hill
  • Mr.* and Mrs. Joseph Hinkle
  • Mrs. Dana Ward Hoskins
  • Alexander Revell Ingraham
  • Joanie V. Ingraham
  • Mr. Al Richard Ireton
  • Estate of Anne H. Karri-Davies
  • Mary S. Kingsbery
  • Estate of Russell W. and Martha T. Knight
  • George Lewis
  • Jonathan B. Loring
  • Elizabeth Cabot Lyman
  • Mr. and Mrs. Jacek Makowski
  • Thomas D. McKiernan
  • Christina H. Nelson
  • Joan Goldhammer-O'Neil
  • Christa and David Pannorfi
  • Mr. and Mrs. John O. Parker
  • Susanne LaC. Phippen
  • Mr. and Mrs.* Charles W. Pingree
  • Nancy and George Putnam
  • Estate of Sarah W. Richards
  • Theodore and Caroline Robbins
  • Donald Guy Ross
  • Estate of Mr. William L. Saltonstall
  • A. Varela Santos
  • Mr. and Mrs. Frederic Milton Sargent Jr.
  • Barbara and Michael Schaefer
  • Anne and Peter* Seamans
  • Mr. Robert N. Shapiro
  • Minerva C. Shreve
  • Susan P. Sloan
  • Dennis E. Stark Charitable Foundation
  • Mr. and Mrs. Edward C. Stickney
  • Thomas A. Stone and Valerie M. Warrior
  • Mr.* and Mrs. Henry S. Streeter
  • Dr. William E. Strole Jr.
  • William E. Teel*
  • Mr. and Mrs. David L. Thomas
  • Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Thorne
  • Mr. Kemble Widmer II and Ms. Betsy Garrett Widmer
  • Dorothy Anne Wilson Trust
  • Joe and Barbara Younger

* Deceased

Listing as of January 15, 2013.
Every effort has been made to ensure accuracy in recognizing donors. Questions or corrections may be addressed to the Development Department at 978-542-1539 or